Tomislav Spoljar

“My name is Tomislav Spoljar. I am a trumpet player and trumpet teacher. I am also an organizer of the Velika Gorica Brass Festival. I have run this festival as an artistic director since 2008.

My aim was to always fulfill the repertoire for brass and to find new and exciting pieces. I had the privilege of composers such as Luis Saglie (Chile), Eric Ewazen (USA); James Stephenson (USA) and others compose for me and for the festival.

Non the less I seeked for new repertoire. I found Armenian composer Andriasov on YouTube and his Concertino that was marvelously played by Timofei Dokshitzer. Then, I found out the video was done by Andriasov’s son, also a composer – Arshak.

His composition “Torch” struck me and gave me a hard time to sleep since I sang the melody (which is hard to do with today’s music), and I also thought how to perform it. I plan to perform it and negotiate in Croatia about the performance of it.

I strongly believe that Arshak has a great career ahead of him as a composer and I can only hope to be able to collaborate with him and to be able to enjoy more of his pieces for brass.”

www.andriasovstore.com

